Perspectives (WFSU) on 88.9 WFSU-FM

Thursdays, 11 am ET - Noon

Join WFSU and host Tom Flanigan for the live, listener call-in program Perspectives. It's the perfect forum to discuss the issues that concern YOU!

For the 2016 election cycle, July will bring a focus on our local elections - what we are dubbing, "Political Perspectives."  Each of these episodes will be available to view on both 4fsu (channel 4 for Comcast subscribers - view TV schedules) and online at wfsu.org/perspectives.  Summer 2016's schedule includes the following conversations:

Tuesday, July 5 - Leon Clerk of Court 
Wednesday, July 6 - Leon Sheriff 
Thursday, July 7 - Leon School Superintendent 
Friday, July 8 - Leon Property Appraiser 
Monday, July 11 - Leon Supervisor of Elections 
Tuesday, July 12 - Leon County Commission Seat 2 
Wednesday, July 13 - Leon County Commission At-Large Seat 1 
Thursday, July 14 - Leon School Board District 2 
Friday, July 15 – Leon School Board District 4 
Monday, July 18 - Tallahassee City Commission Seat 1 
Tuesday, July 19 - Tallahassee City Commission Seat 2 
Wednesday, July 20 - Congressional Second District 
Thursday, July 21 - Congressional Fifth District 
Friday, July 22 - Second Judicial Circuit State Attorney 
Monday, July 25 - Second Judicial Circuit Public Defender 
Tuesday, July 26 - Florida State House District 8 
Wednesday, July 27 - Florida State House District 9

Please join us by listening to the program every Thursday morning at 11, and by calling us. The numbers are 850-414-1234, or 800-926-8809. You can also e-mail your questions and comments to perspectives@wfsu.org .

Perspectives is broadcast LIVE each Thursday at 11:00 am ET on 88.9, WFSU-FM and wfsu.org.

There are four Democratic candidates running for Florida House District Eight, which takes in the northern part of Gadsden County, along with parts of northwest, west and southwest Tallahassee: Ramon Alexander; Clarence Jackson; Brad Johnson; and Dianne Williams-Cox.  They discuss the issues facing the district and their plans to address those issues if elected to the Florida Legislature.

The county’s long-time (since 2000) Tax Collector, Democrat Doris Maloy, faces former City Commissioner, Police Officer and Business Owner, Republican John Paul Bailey.  The candidates talk about their backgrounds and what that experience brings to their respective vision for the office.

The three candidates to succeed long-time State Attorney Willie Meggs make their respective cases: Democrats Jack Campbell and Sean Desmond; and Republican Pete Williams.

There are four people running for this newly-redrawn Florida congressional district that sprawls across the northern part of the state between Jacksonville and Tallahassee.  Three of them are Democrats: the incumbent Brown; LaShonda Holloway; and Al Lawson.  There is also a Republican, Glo Smith.  Lawson was the lone candidate responding to an invitation to appear on Political Perspectives and spends the hour outlining his priorities and philosophy of governance honed by many years in the Florida Legislature.

There are three Republicans and two Democrats vying to win their party’s primary election August 30th for the newly-redrawn Second Congressional District of Florida.  Two of those contenders discuss their very different approaches to governance: Democrat Walter Dartland; and Republican Ken Sukhia.

Pages