© 2023 WFSU Public Media
WFSU News · Tallahassee · Panama City · Thomasville
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Wakulla, Taylor, Manatee Counties Can Qualify For Disaster Loans


Residents and business owners affected by Hurricane Hermine in Manatee, Taylor, and Wakulla Counties can now apply for federal disaster assistance loans. That brings Florida’s total number of qualified counties to 25.

The small business administration is offering up to $200,000 loans for homeowners with property damage, and up to $2 million for business owners. Spokeswoman Adrianne LaNeave says the low-interest loans are designed to help people transition from short-term survival into long-term recovery.

“For every loan that’s been issued we are getting a chunk of money into the accounts of those homeowners and those businesses so that they can start the recovery. And start moving through this process and get back to where they need to be, and where they were before the storm hit,” LaNeave said.

Floridians with hurricane property damage have until November 28, 2016 to submit a loan application. Those suffering from economic injury have until June 28, 2016 to apply for relief.

As a Tallahassee native, Kate Payne grew up listening to WFSU. She loves being part of a station that had such an impact on her. Kate is a graduate of the Florida State University College of Motion Picture Arts. With a background in documentary and narrative filmmaking, Kate has a broad range of multimedia experience. When she’s not working, you can find her rock climbing, cooking or hanging out with her cat.