© 2023 WFSU Public Media
WFSU News · Tallahassee · Panama City · Thomasville
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

WFSU Takes Home Five 2019 Region 13 Murrow Awards

a plaque award sitting on the table

WFSU Public Media has won five regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, the most the station has ever received from the organization. 

Award-winning coverage includes a re-examination of the first and only teacher strike in Florida amid ongoing debates over teacher pay, an in-depth look into the re-segregation of Florida schools, the looming extinction of the red wolf, and a jaunt through the state’s colorful, political past.

  • Excellence In Writing:  Lawton Chiles And The Legend of The ‘He-Coon’, Shawn Mulcahy
  • Hard News: Florida’s First, And Last, Teacher Strike, Lynn Hatter
  • Excellence in Video (Radio):  Red Wolves Fight Against Extinction, Rob Diaz de Villegas and Lynn Hatter 
  • Feature:  As Florida Schools Re-Segregate, A Look At De-Segregation 50 Years Ago, Nick Evans and Kate Payne
  • Excellence In Video (TV):  Banding Snowy Plovers At Deer Lake Park, Rob Diaz de Villegas

“We are so honored to receive these prestigious awards and proud of the WFSU Public Media reporters and producers for their continued excellence in journalism,” said General Manager David Mullins. “While I am pleased, I am not surprised by these awards – because I have the privilege of working with and witnessing the professionalism and passion that our team brings to every story every day.”

WFSU competed in Region 13, which is made up of large and small market stations in Florida, Georgia and Puerto Rico.

All regional winners are under consideration for National Murrow Awards. The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) will announce national Murrow winners in June.

The RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news. The Association says “award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of broadcast and digital journalism.”