© 2023 WFSU Public Media
WFSU News · Tallahassee · Panama City · Thomasville
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

WFSU News Takes Home Awards At 2019 Florida AP Broadcasters Gala

many glass awards on a table
Florida Associated Press Broadcasters

Tallahassee —The WFSU Public Media news team was honored with five Florida AP Broadcasters awards, sweeping one category, claiming three first place wins and taking home honors in two other categories. WFSU’s own Gina Jordan was named President of the Florida Associated Press Broadcasters for the 2019-2020 year.

This is Gina’s second stint on the board, having served five years. She hosts WFSU’s “Morning Edition.” As president, she will aid in planning the 2020 awards contest, securing speakers, planning conferences and continuing the Florida AP’s efforts in teaching and recruiting young journalists into the profession. Gina’s career spans more than 25 years. She’s worked in both commercial and public media as a reporter, host, editor and advisor to students and fellow professionals.

The WFSU-FM series on Historically Black Colleges and Universities in collaboration with the PBS documentary “Tell Them We Are Rising” was the sole winner in the Radio II Series Reporting category. WFSU Public Media’s reporting was funded through a grant from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting in support of Firelight Media, the producers of the documentary. The documentary “Tell Them We Are Rising” highlights the history of the schools, many founded at the start of Reconstruction to educate newly freed slaves. WFSU Public Media Journalists featured Florida A&M University, Bethune-Cookman University, Edward Waters College and Florida Memorial College. This series celebrates the triumphs and explores the challenges of HBCU’s in the 21st Century.

Reporters were also recognized for their work in 2018. The news team swept the Cultural and Historical reporting category with features exploring the 50th anniversary of the integration of Leon County Schools, and the genesis of the ongoing debate over Confederate symbolism, including the Confederate Flag. Reporters Nick Evans and Kate Payne won first place in the category, while Shawn Mulcahy was a finalist.

News Director Lynn Hatter’s coverage of the first and only Florida teacher strike earned a first place win for General Assignment Coverage-long, while Ryan Dailey’s feature on the release of an endangered Kemp Ridley sea turtle was a finalist in the General Assignment-short award.

The WFSU-FM News Team submitted entries in six categories, earning recognitions in five of them.

List of Awards:

  • Cultural/Historical: Nick Evans and Kate Payne, As Florida Schools Resegregate, Here's A Look Back At Desegregation Fifty Years Ago;
  • Shawn Mulcahy Heritage Or Hate: The Debate Around The Confederate Flag
  • General Assignment (Long): Lynn Hatter, It's Been 50 Years Since Florida Teachers Went On Strike. Today, It's Illegal For Them To Do So.
  • General Assignment (Short): Bon Voyage! Gulf Specimen Releases Two Kemp's Ridley Turtles
  • Series Reporting: Sascha Cordner, Lynn Hatter, Kate Payne, Regan McCarthy "Tell Them We Are Rising” HBCU Profiles

See related stories below this article.