Group Pushing Assault Weapons Ban Names Steering Committee

Apr 30, 2018

Credit WFSU

The organization behind a petition drive to put an assault rifle ban on the 2020 ballot announced its steering committee Monday. 

Ban Assault Weapons NOW announced the newest additions to its team as it gears up to push an amendment banning assault weapons onto the 2020 ballot.

U.S. Rep. Ted Deutch (D-Fla.) and Coral Springs Mayor Skip Campbell will serve as the campaign’s two co-chairs with nine others joining the steering committee.

Among those brought on are League of Women Voters Florida President Patricia Brigham, former Republican state senator Paula Dockery and relatives of people killed in the Pulse Nightclub Shooting and Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School shooting.